Why don’t Dell do cheap disk subsystems?

When I buy disk subsystems right now, I buy generic 1U or 2U machines with four or eight sata bays. I don’t even care if they’re hot-swap. I might even buy my own 500GB drives. (500GB seems to have the best £/GB ratio, and really it’s spindles I want, not TBs!)

I just wish Dell did a 1U or a 2U machine with lots of drive bays that they’d leave empty.

It irritates me that Dell don’t:

  • sell a cheap machine with lots of space for drives
  • charge a reasonable price for disk drives (instead they totally take the piss!)
  • ship a machine with all their (non-standard!) caddies and cables in place so I can put in my own drives.

Oh well, it’s not like I don’t understand. They have expensive disk subsystems that they don’t want to compete with. In the meantime, I’ll keep buying non-Dell kit to use for storage. I’ll live!

Leave a Reply

