Songs that make the hairs on my neck stand on end

There are a few songs out there that really affect me every time I hear them.

Set fire to the third bar” by Snow Patrol with Martha Wainwright. I didn’t much care for this song (or Snow Patrol, for that matter) until I accidentally saw them on the Jonathan Ross show one evening. Wow. Nicely done.

Inside of you” by Alice Martineau. Beautiful song. Sad, sad, sad.

The King of Hearts“, “Homburg” and “A Whiter Shade of Pale” by Procol Harum. I just like Procol Harum. Exceptional songs.

Baby I love you” by the Ramones. The song is great, but it’s not very neck-tickly … except in the BT Yellow Pages ad. Great ad, great song.

Wuthering Heights” by Kate Bush. Lovely song. Like too many good songs with hard-to-decipher lyrics, if you make the mistake of looking up the words, it subtracts from the song.

Father and Son” by Cat Stevens. What a voice!

Space Oddity” by David Bowie.

She“, Elvis Costello. Notting Hill came >this< close to ruining it for me though.

The closest thing to crazy“, Katie Melua. My wife hates this song ever since I sang the chorus over and over and over again one day while stripping paint off the architrave & skirting in our bedroom. I still like it.

The Partisan“, Leonard Cohen. He uses both notes in this one.

Live it up“, Mental as Anything. From Crocodile Dundee. Who knows why anybody reacts to certain songs?

Extreme Ways“, Moby. The Bourne Films. Nuff said.

Sinnerman“, Nina Simone. I love the clappy bit.

Lots of songs by Pink Floyd make me all sad and maudlin. Especially “Comfortably Numb“.

Unchained Melody“, Righteous Brothers. How can you not love it?

Complainte de la Butte“, Rufus Wainwright.

I used to love her“, the Sawdoctors.

Nothing compares 2U“, Sinead O’Connor.

Leave a Reply

